Walking Shadow… Book Two in The Darkworld Series is here.

Walking Shadow promo banner-2The lovely and talented Emma Adams took time out of her hectic writing and editing schedule to answer a few questions about her writing process, her demons and her upcoming work. Book Two of the Darkworld Series was just released and I’m excited to share this interview and links to her book with you. So without further adieu, here’s my interview with Emma 🙂

 Are you a panster or a plotter? How do you approach a new idea?

I’m a mixture of both, but I do a lot of planning in the beginning. I write fantasy, so I start with research and figuring out the “rules” of the world I’m writing about. I also write a plot summary and character arcs, and eventually that develops into an outline. But I don’t pre-plan every scene – just a general overarching outline that I adapt as I go along.

What is the most difficult aspect about being a writer? How do you stay organized between writing and working as an editor?

Balancing is something I struggle with. I’m a workaholic, and my workday never seems to end! I try to designate certain hours for writing (usually in the morning) and others for editing, and leave time in between for answering emails, blog posts… the list goes on!

What are your top three nuggets of wisdom you would like to share with unpublished writers?

  1. Write the book you want to read.
  2. Persistence is key.
  3. Every setback is a learning experience.

What is your favorite part of the writing process?

I love drafting when I’m inspired and the words are just flowing. But then, there are days where it’s like repeatedly running into a wall. The ups and downs of writing!

Do you have other stories in the works?

I’m working on an adult contemporary fantasy series I’m really excited about! – Emma shared info about this upcoming series yesterday and it looks fabulous. Stop by her website and read more!!

I wrote a blog about self-doubt being a new demon I encountered. Do you have any writing demons?

Self-doubt is definitely a persistent one! Also, the deadly Comparison Demon always makes an appearance on bad days.

If someone wrote a book about your life, who would star as you in the movie version?

Oh wow… I’ve no idea! I’d say Emma Watson, though she’s far prettier than I am, haha.

Favorite recipe or story you’d like to share

Recipe? Hmm… I did have a recipe for awesome chocolate chip cookies, but I’m not sure what I did with it! But I do have a story: I used to do bake sales for fundraising when I was at university (and sold chocolate chip cookies), and I almost set the kitchen on fire when a cake… kind of exploded all over the oven. I still have no idea how that happened! (Unfortunately, that wasn’t the only time, which probably says a lot about my cooking skills. :P)

 

 And now… check out Emma’s latest book… Walking Shadow.


When you have a connection to the Darkworld, nowhere is truly safe.

Ashlyn has found a new home in Blackstone, but
when a spate of grave robberies across the country spark fears that someone is
practicing illegal sorcery, she comes under the radar of the Venantium, the
protectors of the Barrier between her world and the Darkworld, who are
suspicious of any sorcerer unaware of their origins.

The trouble is, what Ash does know might just
get her killed.
Sufferers of the dangerous condition known as
the vampire’s curse are being brutally killed, and the latest victim is Leo’s
guardian, the ex-head of the Venantium. Ash determines to help Leo find out
what’s really going on, but it isn’t long before events are spiralling out of
control. The dead are rising from their graves, and the barriers around
Blackstone are threatened by a demon which looks exactly like Ash herself…

Amazon link, click here

Barnes and Noble

 Add on Goodreads!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
And here’s more information on the
first in the series, Darkness Watching
(Darkworld #1)
Eighteen-year-old Ashlyn is one
interview away from her future when she first sees the demons. She thinks she’s
losing her mind, but the truth is far more frightening: she can see into
the Darkworld, the home of spirits– and the darkness is staring back.
Desperate to escape the demons, Ash accepts a place at a university in the
small town of Blackstone  – little knowing that it isn’t coincidence that
led her there but the pull of the Venantium, the sorcerers who maintain
the barrier keeping demons from crossing from theDarkworld into our own world.All-night parties, new friendships and a life without rules or limits are all
part of the package of student life – but demons never give up, and their focus
on Ash has attracted the attention of every sorcerer in the area. Ash is
soon caught between her new life and a group of other students with a
connection to the Darkworld, who could offer the answers she’s looking for. The
demons want something from her, and someone is determined to kill her
before she can find out what it is.

In a world where darkness lurks beneath the surface, not everyone is what they
appear to be…

Reviews“In the vein of Buffy and Supernatural, DARKNESS WATCHING found that perfect
balance between the freaky and the fun.” 
– YA author Jen Estes“Demons, Sorcerers, evil, and secrets. Could you ask for a better
supernatural suspense set-up?…It’s full of suspense, danger, evil and dark
humor. The plot is original, and completely gripping. From the first page, this
book had me hooked.” – Rose at 

Desert Rose Reviews“A suspenseful first part to an intriguing new fantasy
series.” – 

Sharon Stevenson, supernatural
author
“The story is extremely well-written with effortless, flowing prose, and the
original magic-user mythology and Darkworld creatures are very entertaining.
The author took what might have been over-done premise and twisted it into
something very fresh and exciting.” – 
Lexa Cain, author of Soul
Cutter

“This is a wildly different story than any I have read about demons…I
loved it!” – Kathy at 

Bookmarks, Spoilers, and
Happily-Ever-Afters

 

https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/images/cleardot.gif

Fear’s Touch:
A Darkworld Novella 
is also available now!

 

Amazon

This is a standalone novella, intended as a prequel to the Darkworld series. As
it takes place one year before the events of Darkness Watching, it
doesn’t contain any spoilers (although it does hint at things which will come
into play later in the series).

Freakish powers and staring demon eyes
aren’t part of Claudia’s plans for the future – and neither is ending up stuck
at the gloomy, isolated University of Blackstone. But bad life decisions are
the least of her problems, when a split-second decision to help out another
magic-user puts her in the crossfire of both the shadow-beasts and the creepy
organisation which hunt them down.
Claudia’s never had to worry about
making the right choice before, but every decision matters when you have a
Darkworld connection. Soon, she’s going to have to make a choice: turn her back
on the crazy and try to live a normal life, or take the monsters down.
But in a world where everyone seems to
have secrets, can she really trust her fellow magic-users – or even herself?

 

Emma spent her
childhood creating imaginary worlds to compensate for a disappointingly average
reality, so it was probably inevitable that she ended up writing bizarre, fantastical
stories. She was born in Birmingham, UK, which she fled at the first
opportunity to study English Literature at Lancaster University. In her three
years at Lancaster, she hiked up mountains, skydived in Australia, and endured
a traumatic episode involving a swarm of bees in the Costa Rican jungle. She
also entertained her creative writing group and baffled her tutors by
submitting strange fantasy tales featuring dragons and supernatural monsters to
workshops. These included her first publication, a rather bleak dystopian
piece, and a disturbing story about a homicidal duck (which she hopes will
never see the light of day).

Now a reluctant graduate, Emma refuses to settle down and be normal. When not
embarking on wild excursions, she edits and proofreads novels for various
publishing houses and reads an insane number of books. At the age of 21, she
signed a publishing contract with Curiosity Quills Press for the first book in
her creepy urban fantasy Darkworld series. DARKNESS WATCHING was published in
October 2013, the first in a five-book series.

Emma’s books tend to contain monsters,
magic, and wildly inappropriate humour.

2 thoughts on “Walking Shadow… Book Two in The Darkworld Series is here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s